Aikido Berlin Mitte

Auf Deutsch  In English

Welcome!

Welcome to the web-page of Aikido Berlin Mitte, an Aikikai Aikido school in north-central Berlin, Germany. We follow the teachings of the Founder of Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, as passed on by his direct student T. K. Chiba Shihan. We are members of Birankai Germany and, through Birankai Germany, we are linked to the World Headquarters of Aikido, Hombu Dojo, in Tokyo, Japan.

There will be no training on Fri. 1 Nov. 2019. Classes resume as normal on Tue. 5 Nov. 2019.

About Aikido
About Us
Schedule and Location
Events and Courses
Contact

About Aikido

Aikido is a modern martial art with classical origins, which began to be taught in Japan in the middle of the twentieth century by Morihei Ueshiba (1883–1969), who is referred to by Aikido practitioners as Ō-Sensei (great teacher). O-Sensei overcame ill health in his youth to become a powerful martial artist who mastered many martial arts, including Jiu Jitsu, sword, and spear, as well as following an intense spiritual practice, before arriving at his own martial way, Aikidō, which literally means “the way of harmonisation of energy”.

合 — AI — join, unite, combine
気 — KI — spirit, energy, breath
道 — DŌ — way, path, road

Aikido uses throwing techniques...

Aikido uses throwing techniques...

On a practical or technical level, Aikido is characterised by using an attacker's energy and momentum to safely neutralise an attack, most often finishing with a pinning immobilisation or a throw. Counter-strikes (atemi) to disturb the attacker's balance and take the initiative also play an important role. Aikido also places a strong emphasis on learning to safely receive these pinning and throwing techniques, e.g. through rolls and breakfalls, the art of ukemi. Falling safely is a skill that can come in handy at any moment in daily life!

... and pinning techniques...

... and pinning techniques...

On a slightly more philosophical level, Aikido is also concerned with the personal development of the student, especially within the context of a mutual relationship between teacher and student or between training partners. Everyone learns from one another and grows through Aikido practice.

... and the more you practice, the more intense (and fun!) it gets!

... and the more you practice, the more intense (and fun!) it gets!

However, this is not a theoretical exercise! One partner must give an honest attack and the other must use technique to resolve that attack with minimum harm to both parties — and then they exchange roles. This is concrete, physical practice in reconciling opposing forces. The Founder of Aikido believed that Aikido was a way to heal the world. In the years just after the Second World War, this was not just sentimentality or a dream, but a real imperative for the future.

About Us

Background

We follow the teachings of the Founder of Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, as passed on by his direct student T. K. Chiba Shihan (1940–2015). Aikido Berln Mitte is a member of Birankai Germany and, through Birankai Germany, we are linked to the World Headquarters of Aikido, Hombu Dojo, in Tokyo, Japan. Birankai is an international family of the students of Chiba Sensei.

Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei (left) and T K. Chiba Shihan (right)

Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei (left) and T K. Chiba Shihan (right)

Chiba Sensei emphasised an integrated approach to Aikido practice both without and with weapons. Therefore, our practice includes a well-developed syllabus with the bokken (wooden sword) and (short staff/spear). We also practice Iai-Batto-Ho, derived from classical Iaido, the martial art of drawing the katana (the long sword of the Japanese samurai).

Aikido practice with the jo (short staff/spear)

Aikido practice with the jo (short staff/spear)

Instructor: Tim Sullivan, 2nd Dan Fukushidoin

Tim began his study of Aikido at Warwick University in England in 2000 under his teacher Chris Mooney, 7th Dan Shihan. Mooney Sensei is a student of the Japanese master T. K. Chiba (8th Dan Shihan), who was in turn a direct student (uchi deshi) of Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, the Founder of Aikido. Tim practised for many years at Ei Mei Kan, the dojo of Mooney Sensei, and also in the dojos of Robert Zimmermann (7th Dan Shihan, Toronto) and Jack Arnold (7th Dan Shihan, Los Angeles). He received his Shodan (black belt) in 2008 and his Nidan (second degree black belt) in 2013; in 2016 he was awarded the title of Fukushidoin (assistant instructor).

Barbara Imboden (6th Dan Shidoin, Bern, Switzerland), Chris Mooney (7th Dan Shihan, Birmingham, UK), and Tim Sullivan (2nd Dan Fukushidoin, Berlin, Germany)

Barbara Imboden (6th Dan Shidoin, Bern, Switzerland), Chris Mooney (7th Dan Shihan, Birmingham, UK), and Tim Sullivan (2nd Dan Fukushidoin, Berlin, Germany)

Since 2004 Tim has also practised Iai Batto Ho, the martial art of drawing the Japanese sword (katana). He has also practised Yang-style Tai-Ji Quan and Kung Fu.

Founding Instructor: Christian Morgenstern, 4th Dan Shidoin

Christian came into contact with Aikido for the first time in 1998 at university. Thanks to his passionate teachers at that time, this complex martial art fascinated him so much that he has practised ever since. In 2003, he moved to Philadelphia, PA, where he was able to deepen his knowledge of ukemi with Donovan Waite (7th Dan Shihan) at Aikido of Center City. He spent every weekend at this time training with Y. Yamada (8th Dan Shihan) at New York Aikikai. After that, he had the great fortune to train with Mitsunari Kanai (8th Dan Shihan) at the New England Aikikai in Boston, MA, which was one of his most distinctive personal and technical Aikido experiences. His life then took him to Barcelona,​where he trained with Michelle Feilen (6th Dan Shidoin) and Francisco Manchón (6th Dan Shidoin), two direct disciples of Yamada Sensei in the Asociación Cultural Feilén. He has learned a lot from both of them and is now one of their esteemed friends. Since 2004, Christian has followed T. Miyamoto Shihan (8th Dan) from Tokyo, Japan around the world. Miyamoto Sensei has exerted a great technical influence on him. Christian's dan grade was conferred on him by Y. Yamada Sensei.

Christian Morgenstern taking ukemi for T. Miyamoto Shihan in Poland in 2016

Christian Morgenstern taking ukemi for T. Miyamoto Shihan in Poland in 2016

Inspired by Kanai Sensei's powerful, judicious Aikido, Christian began parallel training both in Judo and in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ) with Robin Gracie in Barcelona. In 2012 he received his faixa preta (black belt) in BJJ. He has also expanded his cross-training with Western boxing.

After Christian left Berlin in 2016, he left Aikido Berlin Mitte in the care of its present instructor, Tim Sullivan. We are always grateful for the years of hard work that Christian devoted to Aikido Berlin Mitte.

Schedule and Location

Beginners and advanced students are always welcome, and the first class is always free! Our regular practice times are as follows:

  • Tuesdays, 19:30 to 21:00, Aikido
  • Tuesdays, 21:00 to 21:30, Iai-Batto-Ho
  • Fridays, 18:00 to 19:30, Aikido
  • Private lessons by appointment

We also have many short courses or full-weekend events. For up-to-the-minute information, you can follow us on Facebook or send us an email at .

Aikido Berlin Mitte Autumn Course 2016 with Michelle Feilen (6th Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spain)

Aikido Berlin Mitte Autumn Course 2016 with Michelle Feilen (6th Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spain)

Classes take place at:

IMAG e.V.
in den Osramhöfen
Haus A 10
Groninger Straße 27
13347 Berlin

Find us on Google Maps or plan your travel with Berlin public transport (BVG).

The U-Bahn station Nauener Platz U9 247 327 N9 and the tram stop Osram-Höfe M13 50 are both five minutes' walk away.

Events and Courses

For up-to-date information about events relating to Aikido Berlin Mitte please see either our Facebook page or the events page of Birankai Germany.

Upcoming Events

28–29 March 2020
Birankai Germany Aikido Course 2020 in Landau with Chris Mooney, 7th Dan Shihan, and Birankai Shidoin and Fukushidoin
Click here for poster and information

Past Events

13–17 July 2019
Birankai Europe Summer Camp 2019 in Wrocław, Poland
1–3 February 2019
Aikido Seminar with Aikido Course with Robert Savoca Shidoin 6th Dan Shidoin in Wrocław
1–2 February 2019
Aikido Course with Chris Mooney 7th Dan Shihan in Linz (01.02.2019) and Wels (02.02.2019), Austria
Click here for poster and further information
3–4 November 2018
Birankai Poland Aikido Seminar with Etsuji Horii 7th Dan Shihan in Wrocław
Click here for further information and poster
21–25 July 2018
Birankai Europe Summer Camp 2018 in Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
22–24 June 2018
Aikido Course with Chris Mooney (7th Dan Shihan, Birmingham, UK) at Sakura Dojo, Bern, Switzerland
Click here for further information and poster
13–15 April 2018
Aikido Course with Jenny Flower (6th Dan Shidoin, Athens, Greece) at Wrocław Aikikai
23–25 March 2018
Aikido Berlin Mitte Spring Course with Chris Mooney Sensei (7th Dan Shihan, Birmingham, UK)
Click here for further information and poster
17 February 2018
30th Anniversary Seminar of Warwick Aikido, University of Warwick, UK, with C. Mooney Shihan, I. Grubb Shidoin, D. Cope Sensei, T. Tam Sensei, T. Sullivan Fukushidoin, and G. Mizzi Sensei
15–21 July 2017
Birankai in Europe Summer Camp with Etsuji Horii Sensei (7th Dan Shihan, Kobe, Japan) and Birankai Shihans
Further information at www.birankai.de/camp
24–25 September 2016
Aikido Berlin Mitte Autumn Course with Michelle Feilen Sensei (6th Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spain)
Click here for further information and poster
25–27 April 2016
Aikido Berlin Mitte Spring Course with Piotr Masztalerz Sensei (6th Dan Shidoin, Wrocław, Poland)
Click here for further information and poster

Contact

If you have questions, then please send us an email at .

You can also contact us, or get up-to-the-minute information, by following us on Facebook.

 Back to Top
Auf Deutsch

Aikido Berlin Mitte

Auf Deutsch  In English

Willkommen!

Willkommen auf der Webseite von Aikido Berlin Mitte, eine Aikikai-Aikido-Schule im nördlich gelegenen zentralen Berlin, Deutschland. Wir folgen den Lehren des Gründers von Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, wie es durch seine direkte Schüler T. K. Chiba Sensei weitergegeben wurde. Wir sind Mitglied von Birankai Deutschland, und durch Birankai Deutschland sind wir mit dem Aikido Weltzentrum (Hombu Dojo) in Tokyo, Japan verbunden.

Über Aikido
Über Uns
Standort und Stundenplan
Termine
Kontakt

Über Aikido

Aikido ist eine moderne Kampfkunst mit klassischen Ursprüngen, die zunächst in Japan in der Mitte der zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts gelehrt wurde. Der Gründer des Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba (1883–1969), wird von Aikidoka Ō-Sensei genannt: Das heißt, „großer Lehrer“. In seiner Kindheit überwand er seinen geschwächten körperlichen Zustand und wurde ein kräftiger Kampfkünstler, der viele Kampfkünste meisterte (z.B. Jiu-Jitsu, Schwert, und Speer) und einen intensiven spirituellen Weg folgte. Also formulierte er seinen eigenen kampfkünstlerischen Weg, Aikidō, das wörtlich „der Weg der Vereinigung mit der Energie“ heißt.

合 — AI — verbinden, vereinigen, kombinieren
気 — KI — Geist, Energie, Atem
道 — DŌ — Weg, Straße, Method

Aikido benutzt Wurftechniken...

Aikido benutzt Wurftechniken...

Eine praktische bzw. technische Ebene ist eines der Merkmale von Aikido, es geht hierbei um die Nutzung der Energie und des Momentes des Angriffes. Der Angriff wird häufig mit einer Immobilisierung oder einem Wurf neutralisiert. Gegenschläge (atemi) spielen auch eine wichtige Rolle, um das Gleichgewicht des Angreifers zu stören und initiativ zu sein. Aikido legt auch eine starke Betonung auf das Erlernen von Halte- und Wurftechniken, die mit Hilfe der Fallschule (Kunst des ukemi) geübt wird. Zu Fallen, ohne verletzt zu werden, ist eine Fähigkeit, die in jedem Moment des Alltagslebens sehr hilfreich sein kann!

... und Haltetechniken...

... und Haltetechniken...

Auf einer etwas philosophischeren Ebene beschäftigt sich Aikido auch mit der persönlichen Entwicklung des Schülers, vor allem im Rahmen eines gegenseitigen Verhältnisses von Lehrer und Schüler bzw. zwischen den Ausbildungspartnern. Durch die Aikido-Praxis lernt jeder von einander und es entsteht ein inneres weiteres wachsen.

... und je mehr man übt, desto intensiver (und spaßvoller!) wächst es!

... und je mehr man übt, desto intensiver (und spaßvoller!) wächst es!

Die ist aber keine theoretische Aufgabe! Ein Partner muss einen echten Angriff geben und der andere Partner muss durch die Aikido-Technik diesen Angriff mit minimalen Schäden für beiden Menschen lösen — und danach tauschen sie die Rollen um. Das ist konkrete, körperliche Praxis durch die Vereinbarkeit von Gegenkräften. Der Gründer von Aikido glaubte, dass Aikido ein Weg war, die Welt zu heilen. In den Jahren nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg war das keine bloße Sentimentalität oder ein philosophisches Traum, sondern eine Imperativ für die Zukunft.

Über Uns

Hintergrund

Wir folgen den Lehren des Gründers von Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, wie es durch seinen direkten Schüler T.┬áK. Chiba Sensei (1940–2015) weitergegeben wurde. Aikido Berln Mitte ist Mitglieder von Birankai Deutschland, und ist durch Birankai Deutschland mit dem Aikido Weltzentrum (Hombu Dojo) in Tokyo, Japan verbunden. Birankai ist eine internationale Familie der Schüler von Chiba Sensei.

Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei (links) und T K. Chiba Shihan (rechts)

Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei (links) und T K. Chiba Shihan (rechts)

Chiba Sensei betonte einen integrierten Ansatz für die Aikido-Praxis, sowohl ohne als auch mit Waffen. Deshalb beinhaltet unsere Praxis einen gut ausgebildeten Lehrplan mit dem Bokken (Holzschwert) und dem (kurzem Stock/Speer). Wir üben auch Iai-Batto-Ho, abgeleitet vom klassischen Iaido, die Kunst des Ziehens des Katana (das lange Schwert der japanischen Samurai).

Aikido-Praxis mit dem Jo (kurzem Stock/Speer)

Aikido-Praxis mit dem Jo (kurzem Stock/Speer)

Lehrer: Tim Sullivan, 2. Dan Fukushidoin

Tim hat sein Aikido-Studium an der Universität Warwick in England in 2000 unter seinem Lehrer Chris Mooney Sensei (6. Dan Shihan) begonnen. Mooney Sensei ist ein Schüler des japanisches Meisters T. K. Chiba Sensei (8. Dan Shihan), ein direkter Schüler (uchi deshi) von Morihei Ueshiba O-Sensei, der Gründer von Aikido. Tim hat für viele Jahre im Dojo von Mooney Sensei geübt, sowie im Dojo von Robert Zimmermann (7. Dan Shihan, Toronto) und im Dojo von Jack Arnold (7. Dan Shihan, Los Angeles). Er bekam sein Shodan (Schwarzgurt) in 2008 und in 2013 sein Nidan (2. grad Schwarzgurt); in 2016 wurde er als Fukushidoin (Assistenzlehrer) anerkannt.

Barbara Imboden (5. Dan Shidoin, Bern, Schweiz), Chris Mooney (6. Dan Shihan, Birmingham, Großbritannien), und Tim Sullivan (2. Dan Fukushidoin, Berlin, Deutschland)

Barbara Imboden (5. Dan Shidoin, Bern, Schweiz), Chris Mooney (6. Dan Shihan, Birmingham, Großbritannien), und Tim Sullivan (2. Dan Fukushidoin, Berlin, Deutschland)

Seit 2004 übt er auch Iai-Batto-Ho, die Kunst des Ziehens des japanisches Schwertes (das Katana). Er hat auch Taijiquan und Kung Fu im Yang Stil geübt.

Ehemaliger Lehrer: Christian Morgenstern, 4th Dan Shidoin

Christian kam mit Aikido 1998 im Rahmen des Hochschulsports zum ersten mal in Kontakt. Dank seiner damaligen leidenschaftlicher Lehrer hat ihn diese komplexe Kampfkunst damals so fasziniert, dass sie ihn seitdem nicht mehr losgelassen hat. 2003 zog er nach Philadelphia, PA, wo er bei Donovan Waite (7. Dan Shihan) im Aikido of Center City seine Ukemi Kenntnisse vertiefen konnte. Jedes Wochenende zu der Zeit verbrachte er im Training bei Y. Yamada (8. Dan Shihan) im New York Aikikai. Danach hatte er das grosse Glück mit Mitsunari Kanai (8. Dan Shihan) im New England Aikikai in Boston, MA eine seiner prägendsten persönlichen und technischen Aikido Erfahrungen zu machen. Das Leben brachte ihn dann nach Barcelona, wo er in der Asociación Cultural Feilén mit Michelle Feilen (6. Dan Shidoin) und Francisco Manchón (6. Dan Shidoin), zwei direkte Schüler von Y. Yamada Sensei, trainierte. Er hat von beiden sehr viel gelernt und darf sie nun zu seinen geschätzten Freunden zählen. Seit 2004 folgt Christian Tsuruzo Miyamoto (8. Dan Shihan) aus Tokyo, Japan durch die halbe Welt. Miyamoto Sensei hat einen grossen technischen Einfluss auf ihn ausgeübt. Seine Dan-Grade hat Christian von Y. Yamada Sensei erhalten.

Christian Morgenstern mit seinem Lehrer T. Miyamoto Shihan, Polen, 2016

Christian Morgenstern mit seinem Lehrer T. Miyamoto Shihan, Polen, 2016

Inspiriert durch Kanai Senseis kraftvolles, judolastiges Aikido fing Christian parallel das Training sowohl in Judo wie auch in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ) bei Robin Gracie in Barcelona an. Dieser verlieh ihm 2012 seine faixa preta (Schwarzgurt) in BJJ. Weiter hat er sein cross-Training mit westliches Boxen erweitert.

Nachdem Christian in 2016 Berlin verlassen hat, hat Tim Sullivan die Leitung des Dojo übergenommen. Wir sind immer dankbar für die Jahre der harten Arbeit, die Christian dem Aikido Berlin Mitte gewidmet hat.

Standort und Stundenplan

Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene sind immer willkommen! Das erste Probetraining ist kostenlos. Unsere regelmäßigen Trainingszeiten sind:

  • Dienstag, 19:30 bis 21:00, Aikido
  • Dienstag, 21:00 bis 21:30, Iai-Batto-Ho
  • Freitag, 18:00 bis 19:30, Aikido
  • Privatunterricht nach Vereinbarung

Es gibt auch bei uns viele kurze Kursen und andere Termine auf Wochenenden. Für aktuelle Informationen, folgen Sie uns auf Facebook oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail an .

Aikido Berlin Mitte Herbst-Kurs 2016 mit Michelle Feilen (6. Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spanien)

Aikido Berlin Mitte Herbst-Kurs 2016 mit Michelle Feilen (6. Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spanien)

Der Unterricht finden hier statt:

IMAG e.V.
in den Osramhöfen
Haus A 10
Groninger Straße 27
13347 Berlin

Finden Sie uns auf Google Maps.

Der U-Bahnhof Nauener Platz (U9) und die Straßenbahnhaltestelle Osram-Höfe (M13) sind weniger als fünf Minuten zur Fuß entfernt.

Termine

Weitere aktuelle Informationen über Termine im Aikido Berlin Mitte, lesen Sie bitte unsere Facebook-Seite oder die Termineseite von Birankai Deutschland.

Bevorstehende Termine

Events 15.–21. 07. 2017
Birankai in Europa Sommercamp mit Etsuji Horii Sensei (7. Dan Shihan, Kobe, Japan) und Birankai Shihans
Weitere Informationen auf www.birankai.de/camp

Vergangene Termine

Events 24.–25. 09. 2016
Aikido Berlin Mitte Herbstkurs mit Michelle Feilen Sensei (6, Dan Shidoin, Barcelona, Spanien)
Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und Flyer
Events 25.–27. 04. 2016
Aikido Berlin Mitte Frühjahrskurs mit Piotr Masztalerz Sensei (6th Dan Shidoin, Wrocław, Polen)
Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und Flyer

Kontakt

Falls Sie Fragen haben, bitte schicken Sie uns eine Email an .

Sie können uns auch kontaktieren und aktuelle Informationen kriegen wenn Sie uns auf Facebook folgen.

Up Nach Oben